Posted by: chiarraigrrl | February 11, 2010

A Glow and a Snark… :)

The Glow

Indulge me for a moment in a bit of a glowing ramble about An Post (Ireland’s postal service, for those who don’t know). I’ve always had excellent dealings with them – from the fact that post to the States only seems to take about 4 days to get to its intended destination and post within Ireland is practically delivered overnight half the time, I think they’re fabulous. I also love the fact that they do letters from Santa at Christmas if children write to Santa at the North Pole & pop the letter in a postbox, and they have all sorts of other services on their website. Great stuff.

When my mother moved back from the States a few years ago, she had shipped a load of boxes to her new address in Ireland, thinking that they wouldn’t arrive until after Christmas. You can imagine her surprise when the postman delivered them weeks ahead of schedule, thanks to a “priority” sticker that had been affixed to them at the delivery centre in Portlaoise. More recently, she had to send important documents to the Tax Department in NY. She needed them to get there asap, and asked the woman at the counter at the local post office to send them Swiftpost. The woman asked my mom when she needed them to be there, and then told her not to waste her money, they’d be there in plenty of time – and sure enough, they were delivered within a couple of days. Amazing.

Today’s glow is specifically in relation to their redirection services, which I’m particularly impressed with. We had paid to have our post redirected to our new address when we moved in December. In the last week or two, we’ve received post for someone else, as well – with our redirection reference attached. Odd- you could understand one piece of post as a regular mistake, but more than that?? So I emailed An Post’s customer service, explaining that the post customer in question didn’t live at our address and enquiring if a) they had similarly had their post redirected and b) if there was an address to which I could forward the post that we had incorrectly received. I received the nicest email this morning from their redirection services, apologising several times for the error and saying that they’ve now sent me a stamped, self-addressed envelope for me to forward the post to them for correct redirection, as they couldn’t divulge the other customer’s address. That is impressive service. Well done, An Post!!

The Snark

I recently decided to try submitting a few photos at shutterstock.com to see if I could make anything off them – after all, I’m constantly uploading photos on flickr, so I might as well see if they’d be earning anything for doing something I enjoy. Better to try, etc… So I submitted my ID – which was rejected initially, so I had to resubmit it in a better-quality scan – and finally uploaded a few photos yesterday evening. All of them came back this morning refused, mostly claiming “uneven lighting” and/or shadows. Many of the photos were of Great Britain and Ireland- it’s very rare to get a clear day where you would get “even” lighting, and I thought the shadows made it more atmospheric. To make matters worse, they email from a noreply email address, so you can’t respond, and block you off so you can’t upload any photos for a whole month, which I think is a bit ridiculous. Needless to say I won’t be giving it a second chance! Below are the photos I submitted, if anyone’s interested…

Black eyed Susans in Central Park
Black eyed Susans in Central Park (apparently the focus was wrongly placed on this one, according to them)

59th Street Bridge with lamppost
59th Street Bridge with Lamppost

Radio City Music Hall with yellow cab
Radio City Music Hall with a yellow cab

view to Kilkenny Castle from River Court Hotel 4
Kilkenny Castle and the River Nore

cloister arcade at Jerpoint to church
Jerpoint Abbey

St Declans church and round tower Ardmore Co. Waterford
St. Declan’s church and round tower, Ardmore, Co. Waterford

lake at Stephens Green with bridge
Lake at St. Stephens Green

Bushy Park 3
Bushy Park

Stonehenge 2
Stonehenge

Edinburgh castle 7
Edinburgh Castle

Responses

  1. Nice photos, aren’t they persnickety ; /

    • thank you! I was a bit shocked when I got the email – not impressed, and not only will I not be using shutterstock again, I certainly would recommend to everyone I talk to to stay away…! 😉

      Have a great day!


Leave a Reply

Categories

