Posted by: chiarraigrrl | February 24, 2010

Today’s loveliness

The day started out well, in fairness – a Dublin Bus driver I talk to occasionally slowed down a bus (full of people on their way to work, no doubt) to wave hello when I was on my way in this morning. I decided to write a bit about the Tralee Ship Canal and Blennerville windmill for the new visit-Ireland (aka favourite places in Ireland) blog, and was looking up details about the history of the windmill when I discovered this little tidbit on the Wexford Partnership Heritage Status page. The bit that I really, really love is that “the key can be obtained in the nearby shop”. Excellent:

Tacumshin Windmill – One of only two intact windmills in Ireland. Built in 1846, the mill was used until 1936 and renovated in the 1950s. National Monument in the care of the OPW. The key can be obtained in the nearby shop.

Responses

  1. Thanks for the information. I hope to visit this windmill and will add it to my website`s list of locations that can be visited.


Leave a Reply

Categories

