Posted by: chiarraigrrl | August 24, 2011

Happy #smokefree one month anniversary to me… :)

springtime daffodils in St Stephens Green - 27 Feb

That was probably the fastest month ever. I won’t lie – occasionally I’d be tempted to give up on the whole #smokefree experiment, but it wasn’t often, and it didn’t seem like that much of a temptation, to be honest. I’ve noticed I don’t particularly like the smell of cigarette smoke at this point (well, depends on the brand – but most of them I’m not keen on) and I like the fact that I smell better than when I was smoking. I’ve also created some new behavioural patterns that are so much better than smoking – like reading blogs over my morning coffee break at work. The first thing I used to do in the morning when I got up was have a cup of coffee and duck out on the balcony for a cigarette. Now, instead, I have that cup of coffee and spend the ten minutes writing, which is fantastic – doesn’t matter what I write, just that I’ve written something; I feel like I’ve accomplished something creatively before I have to get ready and go in to work, and I think it helps me wake up and be more alert first thing in the morning. And then of course there’s the fact that I feel like my breathing is much better than it was (and improving every day), which is nice. Not to mention all the money I’m saving – I do a monthly budget with a certain amount I’m allowed to spend each week, and it’s a nice feeling to check the wallet at the end of the week and find money still sitting there. šŸ™‚

There is one drawback I wasn’t expecting – I’ve always had acne, and it was relatively under control (and it usually affects my back the most anyway, which isn’t quite so obvious, though still aggravating)… but since about a week and a half ago I’ve had a pretty bad breakout on my face – no cysts, but their little cousins aren’t exactly pretty either. Turns out this is a common enough side effect of giving up smoking, and even have the nickname “quit zits” on some web forums. There are two theories to the reasons behind the flareup – one is that it’s your body purging the toxins out whatever way it can; the other is that there’s testosterone in cigarettes (ew) so when you quit, your estrogen levels increase. Or something.

Obviously, I’d rather have spots than, say, lung cancer. And I’m still feeling more energetic than I did when I was smoking (B, I may take up running yet…) and more creative, oddly enough (think it has to do with the extra energy), so I’m definitely very glad I did it. And as a big believer in rewards, I’ve decided my one-month celebration will be to hit the Body Shop in town for a lovely-smelling face mask for those quit zits.

Happy anniversary to me!

Responses

  1. Congratulations! I’m so proud of you. (And I think you’re spot-on with the rewards idea.) šŸ™‚

    • thanks missus! I’m all about the positive reinforcement. Pressies ftw! šŸ™‚

  2. gratz.. keep it up!!

  3. it can be difficult but it’s worth it!!

  4. Congratulations! Well done.

    • Thank you!! šŸ™‚ I don’t know why I didn’t do this sooner, to be honest… šŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

