Posted by: chiarraigrrl | August 30, 2011

Scrambling up toward Arthur’s Seat through Holyrood Park

Thistles in Holyrood Park with a couple walking in the background

I was going through my photographs from Edinburgh and putting most of them up on my flickr when I ran across the above photograph, which I think is one of my favourites from Edinburgh this year. Late on the Monday afternoon of the second week I was in Edinburgh, I was wandering around by Holyrood Park when I decided to mosey in along the path. I didn’t consciously set out to try to climb Arthur’s Seat – I’m not that keen on high hills/mountains in Ireland (and by extension Scotland) as they tend not to have trees (I’ve climbed some of the mountains in the Adirondacks. I liked them, because they have forests on the slopes of the mountains, so you can’t really tell how high up you are until you reach the summit for that “oh WOW” moment) and it’s quite high by my standards. That said, I do love a good photograph – and I kept stopping to take a photo, wondering what the view would be like a bit further along, and walking up to have a look (and take another photo or two).

I ended up more than two-thirds of the way across the Dry Dam (which in my mind is most of the way up to Arthur’s Seat- I got to about the end of the red arrow on the way to Arthur’s Seat on the map on the Walking Scotland page), where the path becomes a bit narrow and has a bit of a drop-off to the left, before I decided I’d best turn tail and head back before I managed to slip and go tumbling to my doom down the hill or something (Not that I’ve ever had any balance issues, but it seems a more likely way of my meeting my doom than, say, in my sleep as an old woman). There are some pretty spectacular views along the path, though.

I love this photo particularly for a few reasons- the thistles (symbol of Scotland), the couple holding hands walking down the path, the variety of colours… Good times.

Responses

  1. This photo is incredibly beautiful. It made my day.
    (PS – Thistles always remind me of the Tolstoy short novel “Hadji Murat.” My favorite ever. And I don’t normally do “favorites.”)

    • Aw yay, thanks missus!! πŸ™‚ I was pretty pleased with it. (*adds Tolstoy novel to “to-read” list) πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

