Posted by: chiarraigrrl | September 1, 2011

Thursday thanks :)

Seals in Dublin Bay at Dun Laoghaire pier 23 April
I like to think these guys are best friends

I have to admit something up front: I stole this idea from my friend Beth, who has a wonderful blog and posts a lovely Thursday Thanks pretty much every week, which I think is a fantastic idea. I can’t promise I’ll be doing this every week – Beth’s a much more frequent blogger than I – but this week I just couldn’t resist, because I was reminded yet again how awesome my friends are.

So that’s my thanks this week: I’m thankful for such wonderfully kind, funny, thoughtful, sincere people that I get to call friends. The planned move back across the pond next spring has really brought it into sharp focus for me (as if I needed a reminder) – every friend I’ve told in the States has been delighted (and often in the same breath offered help if I needed it), and my Irish friends have been incredibly supportive (though often trying to convince me not to go, which is sweet if a bit heartbreaking). One friend totally bowled me over yesterday with awesomeness – I had posted on Facebook via my mobile on Tuesday evening that I’d have limited access to it for the time being because my laptop had suddenly decided not to load it (it loaded everything else I wanted on the internet. Just not Facebook. Which is funny, because I’m not a huge fan of Facebook anyway…), but that I’d posted here and I was on twitter if anyone was lookin for me. I woke up yesterday morning to discover that one of my best friends from high school had followed me on Twitter with a practically-shining new Twitter account, even though she really doesn’t like Twitter. YAY! Then, later in the day when I tweeted mentioning my planned week in Boston in a couple of weeks’ time to do a bit of a reconnaissance mission, she immediately asked why she hadn’t been notified – and may do the 340-mile round-trip road trip just to hang out for a couple of hours.

Yeah, you read that right. Driving 170 miles one way just to catch up with someone for a couple of hours.

That’s awesome. And so many of my friends have done similarly crazy, amazing, awesome things in the course of our friendships. It doesn’t have to be huge (like that crazy possible road trip) – they’ve all done really amazing things that have meant a lot to me, even if it was just saying the right thing when I needed to hear it. They’re funny, smart, inspiring, wonderful, kind people. And I’m really lucky to know them, every day. (I just hope I do the same for them…). 🙂

So thanks, you guys. You know who you are. x

Responses

  1. This made me smile for many reasons, not the least of which is that you are well-loved. (The photo was pretty adorable, too.) 😉

    • AW, thanks missus. 🙂 (The seals were awesome, actually – I’d gone for a walk on Dun Laoghaire pier a while back when I saw them. They came over to investigate (may have been hoping for a treat from the hooman?) and hung around for *ages* while I took photographs).

  2. […] of things I ❤ about New England which I'm really looking forward to (as well as seeing the wonderful friends I have in the States that I haven't been able to hang out with much over the last 12 or so […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

