Posted by: chiarraigrrl | September 28, 2011

A few of my favorite things from Boston (a short pictorial essay)

Sailboats and a windsurfer on the Charles River Boston
Sailing on the Charles. You can rent sailboat access for the summer, if you’re into that sort of thing. I’d love to go sailing again… (though I don’t think I’d need a summer rental. But you never know)

STATIONERY AND CRAFTS STORES FTW
Excellent stationery and craft stores FTW. (no, I didn’t let myself go in). Everywhere we went, we saw good crafts and stationery stores, and some great knitting stores. These are few and far between in Ireland, comparatively. Couldn’t go in, though, or we’d have broken the budget… 🙂

Little kid in a Bruins jersey at the statue of Bobby Orr 17 September
ICE HOCKEY. More importantly, Bruins supporters (second only to the New Jersey Devils, obviously. Sorry KT). Train them early… 🙂

Walking on the Minuteman Commuter Bikeway in Arlington MA 21 September
Walking along the Minuteman Commuter Bikeway in Arlington. I can’t wait to get cycling again (I wouldn’t do it in Dublin – waaay too dangerous. No one knows how to drive, and it makes me crazy – but that’s a rant for another day). Mind you, the public transportation was excellent, especially compared to Dublin we’ll-come-along-if-we-feel-like-it Bus, and I’m very impressed that they also seem to have bike paths all over the place.

Houses with front porches ftw
HOUSES WITH FRONT PORCHES FTW! I totally didn’t realise how much I missed these (there are practically no houses with front porches in Ireland) until I started looking at photos of places in Massachusetts on d’interwebz and realized I was drooling over the houses with front porches. There was another one with a tower, a front porch and a back screened porch, which is absolutely my dream house (and it’s in Arlington, which is insanely convenient and beautiful. Yay). Time to kick the “career” up a few notches… 🙂

*sigh* 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

