Posted by: chiarraigrrl | October 15, 2011

A few things I <3 about New England…

This evening I had to write two of the hardest emails I’ll have to send about this move, to two good friends that I’m unlikely to get to see again. Neither of them is on social media, so we can’t keep in touch that way. One of them lives in Germany and is moving to the Philippines in a few months – he’ll be in Dublin in February and we were meant to meet up then, but that’s not going to happen now, and since I would be unlikely to travel to the Philippines, chances are slim that I’ll see him again. I was indulging in a bit of self-pity over it – he’s been a really good friend over the years, and I love him dearly – and decided to snap myself out of it with a few reminders of things I ❤ about New England which I'm really looking forward to (as well as seeing the wonderful friends I have in the States that I haven't been able to hang out with much over the last 12 or so years).

First up: having four seasons again!!. Because, much as I love not sweltering in the summer, I’d like to actually dry out (and warm up!!). Never mind being in a place where they actually know how to deal with snow, instead of panicking and shutting down (and slipping around on an inch of solid ice on the sidewalks for weeks). Four seasons are a wonderful thing, and something I didn’t realise I missed til I figured out that I’d have them again.

And four seasons means fall foliage. There’s nothing quite like “leaf peeping” in October sunshine:
Shelbourne Falls
(from http://www.flickr.com/photos/eszter/)

I may have already mentioned this, but I absolutely adore houses with front porches. There are a lot of these in New England

And then of course there’s the fact that I’ll be able to go to ice hockey games again, which is something I’ve missed badly here in Ireland. If I can afford it, I’ll be in the front row at the ice for every Bruins game possible. I love this photo particularly because it is vitally important to train them early:
Little kid in a Bruins jersey at the statue of Bobby Orr 17 September

Another funny thing I didn’t realise I missed but which are beautiful and I can’t wait to see in the landscape again: covered bridges.
Chiselville Covered Bridge - Vermont
(from http://www.flickr.com/photos/dougtone/5052139971/)

Of course there are foodstuffs I miss. Egg nog and ice cream from Stewart’s shops in upstate New York cannot be matched or beaten, corn bread is one of the best things on earth and autumn just isn’t the same without some pumpkin pie. YUM.

I am absolutely looking forward to poking around some of the National Parks. And @interactivemark posted a link to a Nerdy Day Trips website which seems to have some stuff for New England, and looks like fun!

And last but not least: convenience. If you need something, you can usually get it without having to go to fifteen different stores, or having to take four buses and a train (slightly embellishing here, but not by much) to get there. This evening d’mammy decided that we would need an iPad (you and I, dear reader, know that she coveted one of these ever since she saw pretty much everyone in Cambridge seemed to have them. Her justification was very impressive, though. And now I know where I get my justification abilities from…). She googled Apple stores in the Boston area, and discovered that there’s one at the Cambridgeside Galeria, which the shuttle bus goes to from Kendall T station. Like much of what we tried to do in the States, it seems a little too easy (but we won’t argue)…

Responses

  1. […] I posted the other day about some things I ❤ about New England, a few more things occurred to me that I thought were well worth sharing with you, dear […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

