Posted by: chiarraigrrl | October 20, 2011

Confession: I dream of being a foodie… :)

Recently my friend Beth wrote on her blog about a post she had read about decluttering your fantasy self- the self that buys the high-fashion clothes and never wears them, or a “culinary diva” with all the equipment who orders take-out instead. (I know. I steal a lot of ideas from Beth. If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery…).

I have to confess I dream of doing much more proper cooking and baking – I make reasonably healthy dinners, but I rarely deviate from the same set menu each week, at least partly because I don’t have (or don’t make) time and these dinners do the job, never mind the high cost of ingredients and culinary implements here. There’s also the fact that I’m not 100% confident of the wiring and electrical appliances, given Irish building standards and the fact that the oven in one apartment I rented actually sparked if you turned on a certain ring on the hob (not kidding, it was scary. In fairness the landlord did replace it… eventually. With a stove where the oven was so filthy it would’ve taken days of scrubbing to clean) – sort of put me off trying these sorts of things, and it must be said the oven in our current apartment isn’t the most high-powered version I’ve ever seen.

Anyway, one thing I want to get into – and this is not just a pie-in-the-sky (heh) notion, but an actual ambition – is to start testing out recipes and do more baking again once we get back to New England, where there are conveniences like pre-made pie crusts (we haven’t been able to find those here. Like, at all) and foodstuffs in sizes and prices that are more *ahem* consumer-friendly.

Part of the temptation, of course, is that with my blog-reading at my coffee breaks, I’ve gotten into reading a few food blogs, notably “Eat, Live, Run”, “Eat, Play, Love”, and the “Homesick Texan” amongst others, as well as the fact that the fab @sheasylvia is forever posting mouth-watering photos of dishes she’s whipped up in the kitchen on her blog (in addition to having an impressive-sounding career and currently renting a gorgeous house. If I didn’t like her so much I’d have to hate her. :)).

So when I get back, I’ll be picking up all the appropriate utensils, and my kitchen shall be wafting out smells of fresh-baked corn bread and pumpkin pie, never mind a variety of home-cooked dinners. I can’t wait already… 🙂

Baking Day
from http://www.flickr.com/photos/lavendercreek/

Responses

  1. I think this is a brilliant hobby to pick up once you’re back in the states! I look forward to reading all about it. 🙂

    • Ah thanks mrs! Should be fun… Don’t worry, you and Hubby are on the list that might get baked surprises in the mail. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

