Posted by: chiarraigrrl | October 24, 2011

A couple of milestones… and a canary in a coalmine

canary
photo from http://www.flickr.com/photos/nathan_and_jenny/

So, WordPress tells me this is my 100th post on this blog. HUZZAH! And it’s my three-month #smokefree anniversary. Double HUZZAH!! (I plan some quality knitting later to celebrate. Am already making plans for Christmas presents…) Add to that the rapidly-approaching prospect of our move to Boston, and I am one happy grrl.

Apparently, according to d’mammy, I’m like the canary in the coal mine. Normally, when things are going well and I’m reasonably happy, I sing to myself as I’m going about my chores (this, apparently, is something my Irish-immigrant-in-New-York grandmother used to do. I’ll take that as a compliment, thank you- Nana was one helluva lady). It’s not a conscious thing, but I do know it’s something that feeds on itself- I enjoy singing, so if I’m happy and relaxed I sing to myself… which is something I enjoy, so I feel even happier… and so on. 🙂 I hadn’t noticed, but over the last couple of years the days when I was going about my business at home singing to myself had become few and far between.

Ever since we decided to move to Boston, though, I’ve become quite the little songbird again. Funny how that works…

Responses

  1. Happy 100th &,

    Happy III anniversary.

  2. Congrats my dear on all of the above!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

