Posted by: chiarraigrrl | January 8, 2012

Riding the Whirlwind

It has been a fairly hectic few weeks, it must be said- and it certainly feels like more than just over a mere month ago I was still living in Ireland. I have to say this was probably the best decision that could have been made- and I do sometimes wonder what took so long to decide to pond-jump once again! Needless to say, there is a huge amount of work involved in making a transatlantic move, and the last few weeks have flown in a flurry of shipment and delivery arrivals, unpacking, and making a bare apartment a home.

If a city had been built to my exact specifications, it probably wouldn’t have suited as well as this, I have to say at this point. A mere 25 minutes from my apartment is the delightful Windsor Button, which has an astounding array of knit and needlework supplies at reasonable prices (and when I wandered in the staff were helpful and friendly to boot). A couple of blocks from there is my
instant-favorite bookshop in Boston, Commonwealth Books, which is a treasure trove
of used and antique books, maps and prints. Nearer to home, the photocopy/design/print shop down the road has a very well-stocked artists’ supply section, as well as some delightful stationery. And I seem to have landed in the middle of a baking community, as even my corner convenience store carries muffin mixes, vanilla extract and evaporated milk- all very helpful in my dream of becoming a foodie (though possibly not so good for my waistline…). There are also of course the usual concerts and trips to plan, and some fantastic organizations to get involved with, too, like the Friends of the Boston Harbor Islands (fbhi.org) and the Mystic Valley Railway Society (mvrs.org), among many others.

It’ll stay busy, but 2012 looks pretty good already… 🙂

Responses

  1. Commonwealth books is just out the back door from work. I’ve not been in there yet but I think I’ll peruse the books there sometime.


Leave a Reply

Categories

