Posted by: chiarraigrrl | January 16, 2012

What a day for a daydream…


To lose one’s self in reverie, one must be either very happy, or very unhappy. Reverie is the child of extremes. ~Antoine Rivarol

It’s been a long time- more than just a few weeks, certainly- since I spent any noticeable amount of time daydreaming. There was always something else to do, something to think or worry about, something that needed immediate attention… Well, today that changed. Suddenly I was daydreaming all day- while cooking brunch (despite constant attention to make sure the bacon didn’t burn), while knitting on the train, while wandering around my favorite yarn shop downtown… Daydreaming about all sorts of things, too – what I might do for work, projects I might make with new yarns, trips I might take over the next few years. I had forgotten even how much I enjoy daydreaming – and once the daydreams started this morning, I decided to go with it whenever my mind started to wander today. I think daydreaming is very important- it allows the mind to chew over things in a less structured way than the endless to-do lists, and I reckon from daydreams over time goals may develop. It’s a good time for daydreaming, too- the beginning of a new year, in a new place. Funnily enough, the “all the world’s a stage” monologue from Shakespeare’s “As You Like It” has been running through my head recently, too: “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their exits and their entrances, and one man in his time may play many parts…”. It’s time for me to figure out what my next part might be. Daydreaming is an important part of that, envisioning how I might see my life in the future.

And yes, one must be very happy to lose oneself in reverie…


Thought is the labor of the intellect, reverie is its pleasure. ~Victor Hugo

Responses

  1. Love Your Joyful Blog and Ani….how cool to incorporate it. Cheers.

    • hey, thank you! πŸ™‚ Hope it doesn’t disappoint…

  2. Good to hear. πŸ™‚
    What are you knitting during your daydreaming?

    • I do lots of scarves, mainly of the multicolored stripey variety, with a few stripey bags in the mix (a variation on a theme, given that they’re really square scarves pieced together…). I’m venturing into hats over the next couple of weeks – and one of my goals this year is to try a new project each month (though I’m not going to be too strict about it…). πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

