Posted by: chiarraigrrl | February 18, 2012

Time to get moving…

To all trains

Recently I’ve been doing a lot of work on the computer from home- the downside of which, of course, is that I don’t really get out that much (har har. Yeah, whatevah). Inspired by my friend Beth’s fitness blog, I’ve decided to get a bit more balance in terms of activity- and have decided to try to fit in a walk in the afternoons (provided I’ve gotten enough done by that point), which has already made me feel a bit better and less lethargic than I had been getting. In addition to being a great excuse to go exploring, one of the other great things about this is mapping my route when I get home- the plan is that I go out and wander at a reasonable pace for half an hour to an hour, then when I get home I plot it out on the Map My Walk website, which is really helpful in figuring out how far I’ve walked. The other afternoon I had a lovely wander up near the coast, and when I got back and mapped out where I’d walked, I discovered to my surprise that I had walked more than two miles! I was even considering the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer, but I doubt I’ll be up for that this year (more in terms of fundraising than fitness, obviously. *ahem*). That said, there appear to be plenty of walks for charity in the Boston area, so I may work one in later in the year…

Responses

  1. Good for you! You make me miss Boston!

  2. Hooray! I love it. 🙂

    • Thanks missus! Was feeling like a couch potato reading your blog, so figured I’d be better off doing something about it. 🙂 Job hunting is tiring, but I needed to get out too! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

