Posted by: chiarraigrrl | April 1, 2012

Anyone know where the nearest Bookaholics Anonymous meeting might be…?

bookshelf edit
photo from “youreyes” on flickr

Hi, I’m @chiarraigrrl, and I’m a bookaholic.

This shouldn’t be news to anyone who knows me. From the age of about 4 or 5, I’ve often been happiest curled up somewhere with a book. When I was in 5th grade my teacher held a competition to see which student could read the most books- which were up to her standards (we had to do regular book reports for each book we read)- during the school year; I won, and I think I read well over 150 books that school year (185 comes to mind, though I could be wrong).

My awesome friends occasionally act as my enablers, which means that sometimes I fall under the radar when I’m deep in a book that I just can’t put down. This time, I have to blame one of my best friends from school, who came to visit a couple of weeks ago. She’s facing the possibility of having to move later this year and is clearing out her bookshelves; as a happy result, I got the unexpected delight of quite a few new-to-me books when I saw her.

I finished the improbably beautiful “A Mapmaker’s Dream” by James Cowan last week, which was gorgeous and more of a contemplative, slower read, savoring each sentence as if it were a rich morsel. I’m looking forward to reading it again already – but at the moment, I decided for a change of pace I’d pick up “Julie and Julia”, part of the unexpected new-to-me pile, the movie version of which I had intended to see in the cinema when it was out but never got to.

It is delightful- much like when I read Elizabeth Gilbert’s “Eat Pray Love”, I want to read it every chance I get, but at the same time don’t want to read it too quickly because I don’t want to finish it too fast. I think I’m probably devouring it partly because it gives me a similar sense of freedom and empowerment, and if I’m reading for escapism, a story of an independent, smart woman finding her path sounds pretty good to me.

On second thoughts, maybe I’ll start worrying when I’m halfway through her blog

Responses

  1. I’m a BookAholic as well. Once I start reading a book, I won’t put it down.It’s only a problem when you have to work the next day.

    • hahaha yeah, work or daytime commitments can cause some trouble for late-night reading. Usually I can force myself to get to sleep at a reasonable hour, but sometimes it’s more difficult to put. the. book. down. Always has been… (I’m convinced I needed glasses at the age of 7 from too many nights under the covers with a flashlight reading!)

  2. This is a vice I dont mind indulging ๐Ÿ™‚

    • haha yeah, I figure it’s a pretty harmless one, on the grand scale of things… ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

