Posted by: chiarraigrrl | June 19, 2012

Stagefright

Some of you will know that I’ve been a huge ice hockey fan for years. Growing up in Albany, NY, I could regularly be found in the front row at Albany River Rats games.

Fast forward a few years, and after surviving an ice hockey drought while living in Ireland, it’s a sweet treat even just to be in the same time zone that the games are happening in. Of course I was following the Stanley Cup Finals last week closely, hoping against hope that “my” Devils would win the Cup (since the Bruins didn’t make it through the playoffs. Obviously. *ahem*).

As it turned out, the LA Kings won the Cup. And while I was disappointed for the Devils, I was kinda happy for the Kings fans, seeing as the Kings had never won the Cup before. Forty-five years is a long time to wait, and many of them had been following the team for years. Wil Wheaton wrote a wonderful blog post about it, and I couldn’t resist tweeting that this was why I couldn’t be too upset about the Devils losing.

And then this happened:

The official New Jersey Devils twitter account followed me

To say I was gobsmacked would be an understatement. I mean, sure, I was tweeting a bit to @NHLDevils during the Finals- but loads of other people were too, right? To say I was honored would also be an understatement- this is the team that for years was largely made up of guys that I used to see play in the AHL in Albany, so I’ve been following them for a long time. To say that it made my day… well. You probably guessed that already.

Of course, I’ve been quieter on twitter the last few months than I used to be since I’ve been so busy in “real life”- but now I’m virtually speechless…

I’m sure I’ll get over it eventually. But in the meantime… *quietly glows*

Responses

  1. You are worthy.

    Sorry it didn’t go the way you wanted it too.

    • haha thank you sir. And I’m not too broken up about it- the Kings never won the Cup before, and there’s always next year… πŸ™‚

      • I’m not sure if Scott Parse will get on the cup though.

  2. This made me happy. πŸ™‚

    • You should’ve seen my grin when the Devils followed me on Teh Twitter. I didn’t think I talked about the Stanley Cup Finals *that* much…! πŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

