Posted by: chiarraigrrl | April 11, 2013

Turf war in my neighborhood

Canada geese

Turns out there are two Canada geese who think that the area around my apartment building is their turf.

There are two swans who think the pond opposite my apartment is theirs.

This morning as I left for work, I heard a terrific amount of squawking from near the pond, which is set back in the woods opposite the apartment. I had a couple of minutes to spare, so I thought I’d investigate.

I had stumbled onto a turf war. Two geese were shouting encouragement to a third goose, who was being chased up and down the pond by one of the swans. Every time the goose would get settled at one end of the pond, the swan would close in and chase it to the other end of the pond, flying so close to the water as to leave a splash trail.

I was laughing too hard to get a really good picture, but you can kind of see it here:

Turf fight!

Responses

  1. This just had me in stitches! Don’t worry, I go through things like this all the time. I am a slave to the animal kingdom and it’s turf wars. I have left my garden for the past year in charge of a vixen.

    • haha awesome. It was a pretty entertaining way to start the day, that’s for sure!

  2. I like this.

    • πŸ™‚ It amused me… πŸ˜€

  3. […] the swan, but when he got out of the water and started approaching to investigate, I remembered the recent turf war and hightailed it outta […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

