Posted by: chiarraigrrl | September 22, 2014

Off the top of my head- a handful of things to do in Dublin…

City Centre

Trinity College/Book of Kells http://www.tcd.ie/Library/bookofkells/ (I also love the Long Room, part of the Book of Kells tour- https://www.tcd.ie/Library/bookofkells/old-library/)

Kilmainham Gaol http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/dublin/kilmainhamgaol/

Christchurch http://www.christchurchdublin.ie/

BUT ALSO:

Viking Dublin http://www.dublinia.ie/

House of Lords @ Bank of Ireland College Green (http://www.timeout.com/dublin/attractions/venue/1%3A5172/house-of-lords, interesting info here: http://www.dailyedge.ie/five-things-you-didnt-know-about-the-bank-of-ireland-on-college-green-2048-Jul2010/) Bank of Ireland College Green at night 10 March

Dublin Castle http://www.dublincastle.ie/

Chester Beatty Library (don’t let the name put you off- one of my favorite hidden gems, described by the Lonely Planet as not just the best museum in Ireland, but one of the best in Europe): http://www.cbl.ie/

Museum of Decorative Arts & History @ Collins Barracks (particularly excellent) http://www.museum.ie/en/intro/arts-and-history.aspx

Museum of Archaeology http://www.museum.ie/en/intro/archaeology-and-ethnography-museum.aspx

National Gallery of Ireland http://www.nationalgallery.ie/

St. Stephen’s Green http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/dublin/ststephensgreen/

Grand Canal and the Grand Canal Way: http://grandcanaldublin.com/?page_id=9 and http://www.irishtrails.ie/Trail/Grand-Canal-Way/18/

Powerscourt townhouse http://www.powerscourtcentre.ie/history/

Georges Street arcade http://www.georgesstreetarcade.com/

St Patrick’s Cathedral http://www.stpatrickscathedral.ie/index.aspx

Irish Museum of Modern Art http://www.imma.ie/en/index.htm

Dublin City Hall: http://dublincity.ie/dublincityhall

Casino in Marino: http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/casinomarino/

Shrine (and remains) of St. Valentine: http://www.carmelites.ie/stvalentine.html

The Waterways Ireland visitors centre in Grand Canal Dock: http://www.waterwaysirelandvisitorcentre.org/plan-a-visit.aspx

National Wax Museum: http://www.waxmuseumplus.ie/

There’s even great information on the unique bridges of Dublin (which each have their own story, as you might expect): http://www.bridgesofdublin.ie/

National Concert Hall https://www.nch.ie/Online/

Olympia Theatre http://www.olympia.ie/

Vicar Street http://www.vicarstreet.ie/

Abbey Theatre http://www.abbeytheatre.ie/

Gate Theatre http://www.gatetheatre.ie/

Whelan’s http://www.whelanslive.com/

Brazen Head (oldest pub in Ireland) http://www.brazenhead.com/

Grand Canal Theatre: http://bordgaisenergytheatre.ie/

Gravedigger ghost bus tour: http://www.thegravedigger.ie/

Further out:

Glasnevin Cemetary http://www.glasnevintrust.ie/

National Botanic Gardens: http://www.botanicgardens.ie/

Phoenix Park http://www.phoenixpark.ie/

James Joyce Tower and Museum, Sandycove http://jamesjoycetower.com/

Padraig Pearse museum, St. Enda’s Park, Rathfarnham http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/Dublin/PearseMuseum-StEndasPark/

Rathfarnham Castle (and Rathfarnham Castle park) http://www.heritageireland.ie/en/Dublin/RathfarnhamCastle/

If parks are your thing, Bushy Park is nice for a walk (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bushy_Park,_Dublin) and of course there’s always Marlay Park (http://www.dlrcoco.ie/parks/marlay_information.html or http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marlay_Park). And for the fearless, there’s the Hellfire Club (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Montpelier_Hill and http://www.abandonedireland.com/hf.html)

Howth Castle: http://www.howthcastle.ie/

Malahide Castle and Gardens: http://www.malahidecastleandgardens.ie/ (Dublin bus do a wonderful day tour to Howth & Malahide Castle)

National Maritime Museum of Ireland in Dun Laoghaire http://www.mariner.ie/ (and while there, the promenade is not bad, either)

compiled in reaction to having seen this tweet with photo of an article by Damien O’Reilly of RTE’s “Countrywide” in the Farmer’s Journal: https://twitter.com/AodhBC/status/514045902693351425/photo/1 Yeah, Dublin has nothing to offer visitors… (with thanks to friends who have made suggestions after seeing what I had so far)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Categories

%d bloggers like this: