Posted by: chiarraigrrl | September 27, 2015

A few thoughts about birthdays

I had a conversation this week with an old acquaintance who expressed the opinion that “grown adults didn’t celebrate birthdays”. That seemed like a pretty unhappy way to go through life. Birthdays are a great opportunity to recognize a friend- to say “I see you, and I’m glad to know you, and I’m grateful you’re here”. It’s a good opportunity to let people know that they matter, and wish them happiness.

As for celebrating my own birthday- it’s the one day every year I absolutely take time off. I like to spend time with my mother, to thank her for all her kindness, and to do something nice I might not otherwise make time for- like day trips to Howth and to Newgrange and Mellifont Abbey and GLendalough in Ireland, or to the Erie Canal in upstate New York. It’s a chance to give thanks. And that matters.

Responses

  1. Nice.


Leave a Reply

Categories

